AAPSS Awards 2015 Moynihan Prize to Rebecca Blank

    • Rebecca Blank

Rebecca Blank, Chancellor of University of Wisconsin-Madison and former Acting U.S. Secretary of Commerce, was named the 2015 Daniel Patrick Moynihan Prize Winner, by AAPSS. The Moynihan Prize honors individuals who use sound analysis and social science research to inform public policy, while also contributing to the public discourse on society’s most pressing issues, much like the prize’s namesake, the late Senator Moynihan, did. During her time at the Department of Commerce Blank promoted economic development while connecting research and innovation with job creation and economic growth. Dr. Blank’s impressive career in public service extends beyond her time at the agency. She was a member of the Council of Economic Advisers from 1997 to 1999 during the Clinton administration; and she was also a fellow at the Brookings Institution before joining the Department of Commerce. From 1999 to 2008, Blank served as dean and professor of public policy and economics in the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy at the University of Michigan and she has held faculty positions at Northwestern University and Princeton University. Blank’s dedication to informed policy-making, as evinced by her research, teaching, and public service, is aligned with the spirit and intention of the Moynihan Prize. As part of the Prize ceremony, Dr. Blank will give a public lecture on May 7, 2015, in Washington, DC.